All Things Ellie

It's like Sex and the Suburbs and 30 Rock all rolled into one…

Full Figure Fashion Week

While the guys are over in Milan this week for their week-long love affair with the suit in all its forms, Full Figure Fashion Week just wrapped up.  Jezebel had a great write-up on the mood of the week long event. Not only were shows typically diverse in body-types and shapes but in ethnicities as well. Like the runways for skinny bitches, the shows here were full of drama and excitement – everything from swimwear to wedding gowns were displayed. Here is one of my favorite dresses sent runway bound, a fab number by Igigi. This dress is flattering on all body types, but the cinched waist and dramatic neckline often flatter regular to plus sizes more. The colors are wonderful – it’s like the sunset on a hot summer night. Hell, I’m a size 8 and I want this dress!

There was a time when I wasn’t a size 8. Not so long ago, I squeezed myself into size 16, when really I was more an 18. Back then it was difficult to find things for a full figure, which with my natural tendency to hold my weight in my hips and tush, I most certainly had. Torrid had yet to break away from it’s Goth-relative Hot Topic and Lane Bryant still carried mature – as in my grandmother’s taste – and had yet to even dream up a line of bras and panties. Full figured fashion just wasn’t a priority for fashion lines to carry. Thanks partially to the fat acceptance movement, and of course American dollars, there is more to find for a stylish woman sized 14 to 24. Even Forever 21 has it’s Faith 21 line, modelled by winner of Tyra Banks Plus Sized Model Search Sheridan Watson.

While there certainly is a rant on healthy life-styles and the health risks of being overweight, that’s for another time. For now, I’m just happy that those who aren’t that size 2 or extra-small, still has some options when they want to look great.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
