All Things Ellie

It's like Sex and the Suburbs and 30 Rock all rolled into one…

Albany’s Interesting Folk

All Over Albany continues with great summer stay-cation interviews… My buddy Erik Dollman and Sandor Silverman. You should be reading these. Of course, chances are because you read this modest and humble little blog, you also read All Over Albany. So find a friend who doesn’t read AOA and get them to read it. (And while you’re at it, have them read mine.)

Here at ATE we support local blogs. The Albany Creative Community is found, for the most part, online. The Times Union is a great depot for these folk, but it is rather exclusive. You’ve got to be on their radar. (And I am not yet on Mike Huber’s DRADIS board.) It’s the people like Albany Jane Daniel Nester and the folks at All Over Albany that broaden the blogosphere of Albany. They had something to say, and they’re saying it. Readership might not be what the TU can offer however. It’s official, it’s hyper-linked and it’s a community onto itself.

Community is the appeal of Albany. We laugh, we joke and we kavitch, but the idea of Smallbany brings us a warm feeling in our insides (and one not caused by the heat index today). More and more that community has an online aspect. How else would we, the interesting elite of Albany, get interviewed by one of the most beloved blogs in town?It’s a fleeting idea, but maybe there needs to be a depot for us independent bloggers from the 518.

In other news, Joss Wheddon really has this thing with making me sob like a little girl. Just finished the final season of Buffy: The Vampire Slayer and the cookie speech never fails to bring tears to my eyes.

3 comments on “Albany’s Interesting Folk

  1. Beaver
    July 7, 2010

    Found your blog via AOA, and I think you’re onto something about Albany’s online community, particularly the creative online community away from the Times Union’s blogs portal. I’m a big fan of AOA, and I like checking out the local bloggers they plug (particularly with this week’s features). They’re all smart and have an infectious enthusiasm, and they seem to attract folks with a similar bent. Even when pointing out things that could be improved, there’s little negativity, which is a relief in the online world.

    For my money, there’s no shame in Albany writers like yourself and AOA’s not being on the TU’s blog map. A lot of their bloggers are good, and some are excellent, but the commentariat over there seems to be one big hate pool, which is the exact opposite approach of blogs like yours, and the AOA crew. I realize not every blog on the TU site attracts those kind of commenters, but why even associate with that? Sure, the TU may give you some nice readership numbers, but at what cost?

    Keep it independent, and keep up the good work. That’s where I (for one) would rather spend my online time.

    • Ellsbells
      July 8, 2010

      Thank you much for you kind words. I am in love with much of what AOA supports, mainly because it’s interesting and relatively troll-free. But more so because it’s intelligent conversation. I read some of the comments on the TU blogs and there is shuddering at how venomous people can get. (and it’s hot out there!)

      I think the thing is, for me at least, that when you have something to say, you want to reach people and have them read it. You want to have discussion. The chances of that improves with two things: number of readership and quality of. It’s a sad fact in this town that the majority of the most read blogs are through the TU portal.

      As I think about this more, I think that more and more the indie blogs should gather into a portal as well. So that All Over Albany can be linked on the same page as The Fussy Little Blog, or We Who Are About to Die. Unfortunately I don’t know how to make this happen.

  2. Beaver
    July 8, 2010

    I like your indie portal idea. AOA’s In the Neighborhood (or something like that) has the germ of that idea, if only it were an anchored featured down their sidebar and continually updated, maybe through an RSS or something. Maybe it is already, but I only check it when they do a post promoting it. But if it were a more permanently and prominently featured anchor (perhaps sort of like the way WordPress treats pages), perhaps that would work. Flip side: it could become an administrative nightmare for AOA Greg and Mary, and they’ve got such a good existing formula, I’d hate to mess with it. At all.

    On the question of readership and hit counts and such, ask yourself: What’s more important? The writing, or the conversation? And I’m not sure those are always the same thing. For me, as someone who’s dabbled in blogging, I’ve met some great bloggers across the country through the conversation part of blogging. Like most writers (or in my case, would-be writers) I love positive feedback and I love being read by others, and WordPress’ stats sure can validate that, as can reading and being read by other bloggers.

    But in the end, it’s the writing that’s most important. Least, that’s how I feel.

    Put another way: It’s not that I’m a big supporter of echo chambers or only hearing what you want to hear, but I guess I feel it’s the writing first and foremost – that one-way form of writing – with the two-way (or multiple-way) conversation aspect falling into a decided second place. Maybe I’m old school, but I feel you can skate by on the second thing, but not on the first.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
