All Things Ellie

It's like Sex and the Suburbs and 30 Rock all rolled into one…

Sad Songs Say So Much

There are some songs that I associate so strongly with certain people that it’s hard to listen to them without feeling empty pits in my stomach or thinking about that person. Maybe it’s my hipster cred, but I associate situations and people with music and lyrics. Certain events just wouldn’t be the same without a soundtrack. I blame Zach Braff and Garden State, and to a less extent The Shins. I like my music like I like relationships, intense and ultimately verbose. The list I’m about to get into probably will not surprise you at all knowing this.

1. Soul Meets Body by Death Cab for Cutie contains too many lyrics about having hope for two irredeemable people to actually make it that it reminds me far too much about someone who brought out the worst in me, and who I helped enable all his faults and flaws.

2. Don’t Think Twice (It’s Alright) by Bob Dylan is essentially the story of how I had to leave, or let leave, a man who I let waste my time. He wasn’t going to commit to me as I wanted him to, and while he never treated me badly and helped me learn to love and trust, he also could have done much better by me. And yet every time I listen to this song, I have to bite back tears.

3. I Want Love by Elton John might not be about a relationship I’ve had, but about all the ones I want to have. My mother has more than once commented that she can’t listen to it without thinking immediately of me which makes it all the more heartbreaking to listen to.

4. All of Ted Leo’s Shake the Sheets reminded me of the man who introduced me to the man, the band and the album. Too many of the songs reminded me of him, especially Me And Mia. It ends with “Walking to Do”, a song with the lyrics “Oh the road leads somewhere but its not yet to your door.” At the time, that how I felt, and perhaps how he also did. We were two right people and the wrong time and place – a theme that seems constant in my love life.

5. Spanish Leather Boots by Bob Dylan. It’s about all the people that I just can’t get long distances to work properly with. It’s just the same constant in my life. It’s about people leaving, and it’s happened a good amount of times for me. It started when I met a boy in 7th grade who thought I was pretty and smart and was okay with the fact that I was smarter than him and has lead me to where I am now.

But this song, this is how I feel right now.

One comment on “Sad Songs Say So Much

  1. jess
    August 5, 2010

    My new fave? Marianne Faithful’s cover of “It’s all over now, baby blue.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
