All Things Ellie

It's like Sex and the Suburbs and 30 Rock all rolled into one…

Confessions of a Shopaholic

I have a problem. When I get stressed out, I tend to buy clothes. I have about three closets worth of clothes to prove just how stressed I am. For some reason, going to the mall alone, having people wait on me, and then spending precious cash makes me feel better. Some people pound gin and tonics; I buy clothes. A good friend of mine thought that perhaps it was shoes, as no woman has problems with fitting into shoes. Unless of course they are me and have duck like feet. My ankles are narrow and my toes wide and so a great amount of time shoes are more frustration then they are worth. (Hence my love of Sperries.)

No, my problem is the suit jacket. I’m just one of those women who look great in a suit jacket. I tend to collect them like some women collect small figurines. Thrift stores, the Talbots outlet store, J Crew, Express – even Forever 21 – are not safe from my suit jacket shopping. Combined with the fact that the boyfriend jacket is currently “in”, this is getting more and more problematic. Especially because I just bought a white dinner coat and I honestly have no idea where I’m going to wear it.

Discuss: What do you buy when you’re stressed out?

4 comments on “Confessions of a Shopaholic

  1. Erin Morelli
    August 3, 2010

    I do online shopping. It’s not limited to one category like clothing, or books. Instead, when I’m having a bad day or am stressed, I tend to buy myself something I’ve been wanting and have been too chicken to buy or couldn’t justify getting. Thus I’ve ended up with like 10 Woot shirts, new headphones, some books, etc. Always makes me feel better.

    • Ellsbells
      August 3, 2010

      I get iffy about anything involving my debit card and the internet, but only because it seems as if every time I ever use a credit card online or in the store, my bank info gets stolen so I gave up and use cash only. Besides I get to wave cash and feel like a cash money millionaire!

  2. Natalie
    August 3, 2010

    I buy glossy magazines and 3 things from Old Navy that never go together in one outfit.

  3. Jill Chivers
    August 4, 2010

    Shoes and jackets are my downfall. Like you, I look great in a jacket. I have 12 animal print jackets alone. Crazy, I know. Most women don’t even have one. My wardrobe almost purrrrs when I go in there. It’s a converted bedroom, custom-built to fit all my stuff in it.

    But that was “before”. I haven’t been shopping for nearly 8 months. Why? Because I’m taking a year out from clothes shopping. Why? Because it was getting to be a bit of a problem for me, and I didn’t want to be Isla Fisher in ‘Confessions of a Shopapholic’ (ok, I did, but not in the bad ways. I want to be that thin, with that hair).

    Shopping when you feel bad can be a great pick me up. Does that perk-up last, though? That’s what I was starting to wonder… So when I feel low now, I have to find something else to do. Sometimes I journal, sometimes I go for a walk, sometimes I go out for a chai latte. Sometimes I gnash my teeth and complain to my husband.

    Great question! And an enjoyable post. Enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
